skip navigation

Seeds & Brackets Announced for the 2020 NWBA Toyota Junior Wheelchair Basketball National Tournaments

By NWBA Team, 03/03/20, 7:30PM CST


COLORADO SPRINGS, CO - The NWBA and Junior Division Executive Committee have announced the final seeds for the Varsity, Prep and Varsity Invitational teams participating in the 2020 NWBA Toyota Junior Wheelchair Basketball National Tournaments.

The 2020 NWBA Toyota Junior Wheelchair Basketball National Tournaments will feature a total of 48 teams from the Junior Division. 32 teams from Varsity will play in the Varsity or Varsity Invitational tournaments. The Varsity tournament will crown a national champion, while a tournament championship will be on the line for the Varsity Invitational. There will be 16 Prep teams that will play for a national championship. 

All Junior Divisions will begin play on Friday, March 12 and end on Sunday, March 14 at Wichita Hoops in Wichita, KS. All Junior Division national championship and tournament championship games will take place on court 8 at Wichita Hoops on Sunday, March 15. The championship game times are as follows (all times listed are local time - CST): 

- Varsity Invitational Tournament Championship Game at 10 a.m.

- Prep National Championship Game at 12 p.m.

- Varsity National Championship Game at 2 p.m.

For more information on the visit the tournament webpage at

This event will be hosted by Visit Wichita, the lead organization for the travel and tourism industry in South Central Kansas. The venue for this event will be Wichita Hoops, a state of the art, 12-court basketball facility. Wichita Hoops has over 100,000 feet of expansive hardwood basketball courts, and comes with other critical amenities, such as built in shot clocks and scoreboards, as well as electronically adjustable rim heights for Junior Prep Division games.


Varsity Overview

The defending National Champions, WASA Jr. Bucks, wrap up an undefeated season with the Midwest Conference Championship and claim the number one seed for the 2020 NWBA Toyota Varsity National Championship. Houston’s TIRR Memorial Hermann Hotwheels earned the second seed and look for a rematch of last year’s championship game. Recent powerhouses such as the BlazeSports Jr. Hawks and the Nebraska Red Dawgs take the third and fourth seed respectively. Notable performances include the ascension of the RHI Racers into the top division as well as the Ryan Martin Foundation Trojans making their mark as a Varsity bracket team in only the third year of the rapidly growing program. 

Varsity Invitational Overview

Several teams were deserving of the top seed, but the Oklahoma City Wheels of Thunder took the top seed of #17 ranked Varsity team backed by impressive performances, including a decisive victory over a strong ATX team, to finish second in the Southern Conference Tournament. The ATX is seeded third in the 2020 NWBA Toyota Varsity Invitational National Tournament. The Motor City Wheelz squad has shown impressive growth and leverages multiple strong tournament performances to take the second seed while the Rancho Halos have rebounded from injury issues and claim the fourth seed. 

Prep Overview 

The 2020 NWBA Toyota Prep National Championship promises exciting games and great opportunities for young athletes near the start of the sporting journey.  While the defending National Champion Bennett Blazers look formidable as the top seed, a host of impressive teams have proven their mettle this year and will compete throughout the draw. BlazeSports Prep Hawks consistently faced tough competition in the Southeastern Conference and used their strong season to earn the second seed. Nebraska Red Dawgs compiled another strong year to climb into the third spot and Charlotte Rollin' Hornets Purple rounds out the top four, but no one would be surprised to see any team make a deep run in the tournament.  

Varsity - Final Seeds

1. WASA Bucks

2. TIRR Memorial Hermann Hotwheels

3. BlazeSports Jr. Hawks - Red

4. Nebraska Red Dawgs

5. Cincinnati Dragons

6. LWSRA Hawks Varsity 

7. Minnesota Rolling Timberwolves

8. Seattle Junior Sonics

9. Fairfax Falcons

10. Achievement Centers Jr. Wheelchair Cavaliers

11. Charlotte Rollin Hornets

12. Lakeshore Lakers

13. Chicago Skyhawks

14. BORP Jr. Road Warriors

15. RHI Racers

16. Ryan Martin Foundation Trojans

Varsity Invitational - Final Seeds

1. OKC Wheels of Thunder

2. Motor City Wheelz

3. ATX

4. Rancho Halos

5. DASA Rolling Rams

6. ParaSport Spokane Varsity

7. Dallas Jr. Mavericks - Blue

8. Mad City Badgers

9. Katie’s Komets

10. Denver Jr. Rolling Nuggets

11. Blazesports Jr. Hawks - White

12. UAH Chargers

13. Rockford Jr. Chariots

14. Synergy Jr. Bulls

15. Kansas City Kings

16. Mary Free Bed Jr. Pacers

Prep - Final Seeds

1. Bennett Blazers Prep

2. BlazeSports Jr. Hawks

3. Nebraska Red Dawgs Jr. Prep

4. Charlotte Prep - Purple

5. SAI Rolling Panthers

6. Lakeshore Sharks

7. New York Rollin’ Fury 

8. Mary Free Bed Jr. Pacers Prep

9. Louisville Jr. Mustangs

10. Chicago Skyhawks Prep

11. LWSRA Hawks Prep

12. STRAPS Stars Prep

13. Minnesota Rolling Rowdies

14. WASA Jr. Bucks Prep

15. Kansas City Kings

16. Dallas Jr. Mavs Prep