skip navigation

2019-20 NWBA Junior Division Annual Awards Announced

By NWBA, 03/18/20, 5:00PM CDT


Kelly Fischbach, Jason Joines, Dave Kiley, and the Cincinnati Dragons-Greater Cincinnati Adapted Sports Club

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO - The Junior Division Executive Committee is proud to announce the leadership awards for program coaches and leaders for the 2019-20 season. These awards include the Courage Center Award of Merit for Outstanding Leadership in Developing the Junior Division, Dave Ruback Legacy Award, Dr. Robert Szyman Leadership Award, and the Ed Owen Coach of the Year Award. Please feel free to visit the following webpage to learn more about these awards,

The 2019-20 award winners are those who displayed great acts of leadership, went above and beyond the norm, and positively shaped the Junior Division during this past season. The 2019-20 NWBA Junior Division Awards were given to the following individuals and organizations:

Courage Center Award of Merit for Outstanding Leadership in Developing the Junior Division Award Winner: 

Cincinnati Dragons- Greater Cincinnati Adapted Sports Club

The Greater Cincinnati Adapted Sports Club (GCASC) has worked to develop athletes and coaches in the Junior Division since being founded in summer of 2014. The GCASC first fielded a team in the Junior Division for Prep in 2015. Two years later in 2017 the GCASC added a second team at Varsity level of play. T Most recently the Dragons were entering the 2020 NWBA Toyota Varsity Wheelchair Basketball National Championships as the #5 seed overall in Varsity. The GCASC program is led by Paralympians Jake Counts and Ian Lynch. 

Dave Ruback Legacy Award Winner: 

Jason Joines - BlazeSports Jr. Hawks

While being a parent of a Junior Division athlete, Joines consistently goes above and beyond the norm for the betterment of the Junior Division. Joines' son Josh, now attending University of Illinois, graduated from the BlazeSports Jr. Hawks in 2017. Joines has been actively involved as a coach in the BlazeSports program for both their Prep and Varsity teams. Lastly, Joines has recently joined the Junior Division Rankings Committee. 

Dr. Robert Szyman Leadership Award Winner:

Kelly Fischbach - Nebraska Red Dawgs

Fischbach goes out of her way to help the Junior Division to continue to flourish for years to come. Fischbach serves in various leadership roles for the NWBA including as the Conference Commissioner for the Junior Northern Conference and on the selection committee for the annual NWBA Junior Division Academic Awards. Fischbach has worked to grow the Junior Division by lending a helping hand to athletes and coaches throughout the nation and serving as a true contributor in the Junior Division.

Ed Owen Coach of the Year Award Winner: 

Dave Kiley - Charlotte Rollin' Hornets - Varsity

Dave Kiley embodies some of the same philosophies that Ed Owen strived to be during his time as a coach. Dave is dedicated to teaching and helping his athletes become better not only better wheelchair basketball players, but better people and leaders in their communities. Through his work with the Rollin' Hornets Kiley illustrates the coaching spirit and coaching qualities that of Ed Owen had as a coach. Kiley serves not only as the head coach of the Charlotte Rollin' Hornets - Varsity but the Rollin' Hornets Women's team as well.