skip navigation

Poist, Ryan and Law join the Women's Division Executive Committee

By NWBA, 12/11/20, 3:00PM CST


COLORADO SPRINGS, CO -  The Women's Division Executive Committee for National Wheelchair Basketball Association is excited that Jenn Poist  (Tucson, AZ) has been appointed as Chairperson for the Women's Division. New additions to the committee also include Courtney Ryan (Tucson, AZ) as Vice Chairperson and Candice Law (Huntersville, NC) as the Athlete Representative.

Former Women's Division Chairperson Darlene Hunter shares, "As I take on my new role at USOPC Athlete Representative, I have to vacant the role of Chair of the Women's Division. I am very sad to leave this role, but know that I am leaving it in great care of passionate women who will continue to build and expand the women's division. Please welcome these women to the Women's Division Executive Committee. Congratulations ladies!"

Poist was a member of the U.S. Women's National Team for the 2012 London Paralympics and historic gold-medal winning 2016 Rio Paralympics. Poist and Ryan competed last NWBA season with the Arizona Storm in the Women's Division and Tucson Lobos in Adult Division I. Ryan also a hopeful to make the final roster for U.S. Women's National Team that will compete at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games (summer of 2021). Law has been competing on annual-basis for the Charlotte Rollin' Hornets Women and Adult Division III teams. 

The current Women's Division Executive Committee is as follows:

Chairperson: Jenn Poist 

Vice Chairperson: Courtney Ryan

Treasurer: Tami English 

Secretary: Michelle Jenkins 

Athlete Representative: Candice Law 

Commissioner: Junior Rodriguez

The Women's Division Executive Committee will conduct elections for positions at the next annual Women's Division Delegates Meeting, date and location are TBD at this time.