skip navigation

Poist and Ryan Re-Elected to Women's Division Executive Committee

By NWBA Women's Division, 01/19/22, 11:59AM CST


COLORADO SPRINGS, CO - The Women's Division Executive Committee for National Wheelchair Basketball Association is excited that Jenn Poist (Tucson, AZ) has been elected as Chairperson and Courtney Ryan (Tucson, AZ) has been elected as Vice Chairperson for the Women's Division.

Poist was elected to serve a three-year term (2021-2024). Ryan will fulfill the remainder of the previous Vice Chairperson term (2020-2023).

Poist shared, "I have been a member of the NWBA since 2003, I have played in juniors, women’s, and adult divisions and coached a collegiate team. I am excited to continue to grow the women’s divisions and increase the number of women athletes competing at the recreational, collegiate, and internal level.”

In addition, Ryan shared, "I have been a member, as a player, of the NWBA women’s division for 10 years and committed to growth, equality and inclusion. My love for this sport and community has given me many opportunities, and I want to be able to give back to the next generation of athletes.”

Poist was a member of the U.S. Women's National Team for the 2012 Paralympic Games (London) and historic gold-medal winning 2016 Paralympic Games (Rio de Janeiro). Ryan was a member of the U.S. Women’s National Team at the 2019 Parapan American Games (Lima) and 2020 (2021) Paralympic Games (Tokyo). Poist and Ryan currently compete with the Arizona Storm in the Women's Division.

The current Women's Division Executive Committee is as follows:

Chairperson: Jenn Poist 

Vice Chairperson: Courtney Ryan

Treasurer: Tami English 

Secretary: Vacant 

Athlete Representative: Candice Law 

Commissioner: Junior Rodriguez

Jenn Poist

Courtney Ryan

Courtney Ryan