skip navigation

Seeds & Brackets Announced 2022 NWBA Toyota Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball National Championships presented by ABC Medical

By NWBA, 03/16/22, 11:30AM CDT


UTA Movin' Mavs Men & University of Alabama Women Enter As Top Seeds

ARLINGTON, TEXAS - The University of Alabama Women and University of Texas at Arlington Men will headline their divisions of play as the top seeds in the 2022 National Wheelchair Basketball Association (NWBA) Toyota Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball National Championships presented by ABC Medical. This event will be played at the College Park Center (600 S Center St, Arlington, TX 76019) on the UTA campus. The event starts today, March 16, with team shootarounds; but games start on Thursday, March 17 and conclude with the championship games on Saturday, March 19. UTA last hosted the NWBA national championship tournament for the Intercollegiate Division in 2014.

UTA Movin' Mavericks enter as the reigning men’s national champions after defeating the Alabama Crimson Tide in the 2021 edition of the event. The University of Illinois Men enter as the third seed, which is the team's highest seeding in the men's division in recent memory. The University of Wisconsin – Whitewater returns to this event for the first time since 2019 when they lost a nail bitter of a game against University of Alabama who secured back-to-back national titles (2018 & 2019). Rounding out the top five seeded teams is Southwest Minnesota State University; which will start competition against Edinboro University of Pennsylvania at 10 a.m. on Thursday, March 17. 

The first games of the tournament will be in the men's division and played on March 17 at 8:00 a.m.; game one will be #8 University of Missouri vs. #9 City University of New York and game two will be #7 Auburn University vs. #10 University of Nebraska Omaha. The winner of those games will play the University of Alabama or UTA Movin' Mavs in the men's division.

In the women's division the participants of the past four women’s championship games, the University of Alabama Women and UTA Lady Movin' Mavericks (#3 seeded women's team) , will begin on different sides brackets, so a rematch of any kind will not occur until the championship game at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 19. The University of Illinois enters the tournament as the second seeded team, earning them a bye in the first round of games. 

Here are the seeds for the 2022 NWBA Toyota Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball National Championships:

Men’s Division

  1. University of Texas at Arlington 
  2. University of Alabama
  3. University of Illinois
  4. University of Wisconsin - Whitewater
  5. Southwest Minnesota State University
  6. University of Arizona
  7. Auburn University
  8. University of Missouri
  9. City of University of New York
  10. University of Nebraska Omaha
  11. Eastern Washington University
  12. Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

Women’s Division

  1. University of Alabama
  2. University of Illinois
  3. University of Texas
  4. University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
  5. University of Arizona
  6. City of University of New York

The tournament brackets are below for both the women's and men's divisions. 

More information and links to the livestream for the event can be found here. Follow the NWBA social media accounts for updates on the event as well.