skip navigation

2017 NWBA Women’s National Wheelchair Basketball Tournament Kicks Off Friday

03/16/2017, 8:15pm CDT

ARLINGTON, TEXAS - The 2017 NWBA Women's National Wheelchair Basketball Tournament kicks off Friday, March 17, at the University of Texas-Arlington. The tournament features four teams from the Women's Division and 10 total games.

The host team, the Lady Mavericks, will be led by U.S. Paralympic gold medalist Darlene Hunter of Commerce Township, Michigan, and Desiree Miller of Monroe, Washington. Miller captured the 2016 NWWBT National Championship while playing for the WASA Bucks - Women (WI).

The PossAbilities Shield Maidens return to this tournament as fourth-place finishers in the 2016 NWWBT. The Shield Maidens are led by U.S. Paralympic gold medalist Jennifer Poist of McSherrystown, PA and member of the 2014 U.S. Women's World Championship team Courtney Ryan of San Diego, California.

The LWSRA Lady Hawks look to improve on a sixth-place finish at this event last season. The Hawks will be led by current U.S. Women's National Team member Zoe Voris of Crown Point, Indiana.

The Utah Rush, a new team to the Women's Division for the 2016-17 season, is a roster combined of junior players from the Utah Rush - Varsity and players from the former Denver Lady Nuggets.

The venue for the three-day event is the Physical Education Building on campus, 801 Greek Row Dr., Arlington, TX 76013. 

Check the NWBA Facebook page for photos and tournament updates. Daily news articles will also be posted on the NWBA website. Click on the link below to watch games via live stream.

Tournament Schedule

Friday, March 17                                                                           

9:00AM                Lady Mavericks vs. LWSRA Lady Hawks

11:00AM              PossAbilities Shield Maidens vs. Utah Rush

1:00PM                 LWSRA  Lady Hawks vs. Utah Rush

3:00PM                 Lady Mavericks vs. PossAbilities Shield Maidens                               

Saturday, March 18                                                        

9:00AM                 PossAbilities Shield Maidens vs. LWSRA Lady Hawks

11:00AM              Utah Rush vs. Lady Mavericks

1:00PM                 Round Robin #1 Seed vs. Round Robin #4 Seed

3:00PM                 Round Robin #2 Seed vs. Round Robin #3 Seed                                

Sunday, March 19                                                                         

9:00AM                Third & Fourth Place Game

11:00AM              National Championship Game   

Tag(s): Home