skip navigation

First Champions Crowned at NWBA Preseason NIT presented by CarMax

10/22/2017, 4:00pm CDT

RICHMOND, VA – The final day of the National Wheelchair Basketball Association Preseason National Invitation Tournament presented by CarMax featured highly competitive games as three titles were crowned in Adult Division II, Adult Division III and Junior Varsity Division. The competition format for today awarded team places for all divisions and teams.

The seventh-place game for the Adult Division II was the Magee Spokesman and Sportable Rim Riders. The Rim Riders keep things interesting until foul trouble allowed the Spokesmen to pull away in a 46-41. The leading scoring scorer for the Spokesman was Tom McNaughton with 19 points and the Rim Riders were led by Mark Hartney with 13 points. The next game up was the 5th place game with the San Antonio Parasport Spurs and the Delaware Destroyers. Another great game from Adrien Burnett with 22 points, let the Spurs secured fifth place with a 48-41 game. The third-place game was the Charlottesville Cardinals against the Fort Lauderdale Sharks. The Cardinals finished a strong tournament performance with a 54-45 won over the Sharks. The Nassua Kings were your Adult Division II Champions with a 55-48 victory over the Charlotte Rollin' Hornets - A. 

The start of today’s action for Adult Division III was the 3rd place game that included Spartansburg Pistons and Virginia Sunwheelers. The Pistons controlled the game throughout will a strong finish to the tournament beating the Sunwheelers 40 -26. The leading scorer for the John Brunson scored 12 points. The championship game for the Adult Divison III had the RCRC Lightning squaring off against the Pittsburgh SteelWheelers. With a strong offensive outing for Meirdo Sir with 15 points the Lightning captured the title 43-39.

The Junior Varsity Division bracket finished with a matchup of the Bridge II Sports Jr. Thunder verse the Katie’s Komets. The Komets secured their first win of the tournament with a 28-20 victory over the Jr. Thunder. The host-team Sportable Spokes faced off against the Charlotte Rollin’ Jr. Hornets in the 5th place game. The Hornets squeezed out a victory in a close win over the Spokes with a final of 49-45 for the Hornets. The Courage Kenny Jr. Rolling Timberwolves and Farifax Falcons played in the 3rd place game for the Junior Varsity Division. Fresh off their second loss of the season the Timberwolves put in a strong performance winning 65-19. The championship game for the Junior Varsity Division was undefeated teams of TIRR Memorial Herman Jr. Hotwheels and the RHI Racers. The Racers keep things close in the first half, but the Jr. Hotwheels were too much for the Racers as they were crowned tournament champions in a 70-46 contest.

The NWBA Preseason NIT presented by CarMax was held in conjunction with the first annual National Wheelchair Basketball Week, a week-long celebration of wheelchair basketball and the progress the sport has made since founded in 1948. The NWBA Preseason NIT was a great conclusion to a fun week showcasing wheelchair throughout the United States.

For tournament results and photos please visit The championship games were streamed via the Facebook page for the NWBA. The games are available to view by visiting

Thank you to all the tournament supporters and sponsors including CarMax, ABLEnow, VCU Health, Richmond Region Tourism, NBC12 and City of Richmond. A special thanks to Sportable as the host organization for this inaugural event. Thank you again to all of the athletes and teams that attended the NWBA Preseason NIT presented by CarMax.


Adult Division II Division

All-Tournament Team

Brandon Rush – Charlottesville Cardinals

Enrique Torens – Fort Lauderdale Sharks

Mark Hartney – Sportable Rim Riders

David Wilkes – Charlotte Rollin’ Hornets

Perry Price – Delaware Destroyers



Chris St. Remy – Nassau Kings


Adult Division III

All-Tournament Team

Jeremy Bittner – Pittsburgh SteelWheelers

James Abbs – Virginia Sunwheelers

Travis Anderson – RCRC Lightning

Claude Scott – Pittsburgh SteelWheelers

Patrick Barnes – Spartansburg Pistons

Sir Melido – RCRC Lightning


Junior Varsity Division

All-Tournament Team

Daniel Malloy – Fairfax Falcons

Nick Oman – RHI Racers

Elizabeth Becker – Charlotte Rollin’ Jr. Hornets

Grady Gordon – Courage Kenny Jr. Rolling Timberwolves

Miles Hill – Bridge II Sports Jr. Thunder

Carrington Marendes – TIRR Memorial Herman Jr. Hotwheel

Tag(s): Home