skip navigation

2018 NWBA Intercollegiate Division Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

02/19/2018, 11:00am CST

Jesus Alamillo, Pam Fontaine, Curtis Lease, Mike Frogley

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO - The Intercollegiate Division Executive Committee is proud to announce the class of 2018 for the National Wheelchair Basketball Association Intercollegiate Division Hall of Fame. The 2018 inductees are a group of four individuals, who made an impact during their involvement in wheelchair basketball in the Intercollegiate Division. This year’s inductees include: Jesus Alamillo, Pam Fontaine, Curtis Lease and Mike Frogley.


• Jesus Alamillo, University of Texas Arlington

Alamillo, originally from Los Angeles, California, graduated in 1995 with a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from UT-Arlington. He was a three-time All-American First Team member and part of four-straight National Championship teams for the Movin’ Mavs from 1990-1994.  Alamillo continues to coach and mentor others in wheelchair basketball in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex.

• Pam Fontaine, Wright State University

Fontaine, originally from New Jersey, has contributed greatly to the development of the NWBA Women’s Division.  She participated on Wright State University in the 1980s. She was a member of the Lady Texans since their inception. Fontaine was selected to a National All-Tournament team at least 13 times. She has also been selected to the U.S. Women’s National Team a total of five times.

• Curtis Lease, University of Illinois

Curtis, originally from Jacksonville, IL, graduated in 1994 from the University of Illinois-Champaign. As a member of the Fighting Illini Lease was a four-time All-American and awarded the Sportsmanship Award for the Intercollegiate Division. Lease was also a three-time Most Valuable Player for University of Illinois. Lease continues to play as a member of the RIC Hornets of Adult Division I and is a current member of the NWBA Board of Directors.


• Mike Frogley, University of Illinois

Frogley, originally from Ontario, Canada, returned to his alma mater to coach the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater wheelchair basketball program in 1999. He went on to foster a legacy of excellence in men’s and women’s collegiate wheelchair basketball, both at UW-Whitewater and the University of Illinois. Frogley led his teams to a combined 12 national championship titles in the Intercollegiate Division. In 2009 Frogley received the Bob Szyman Leadership Award of the Junior Division for his long-term leadership and development of academic recognition program for athletes of the Junior Division. Frogley currently serves as National Academy Director and Head Coach for Wheelchair Basketball Canada. Frogley also coaches two NWBA teams, Toronto Rollin’ Raptors – DI and Toronto Rollin’ Raports – DII.


The 2018 inductees of the NWBA Intercollegiate Division Hall of Fame will be recognized at an upcoming NWBA competition and/or school. The 2018 National Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball Tournament will be held on March 14-17 at Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall, MN. For more information please contact the Intercollegiate Division Executive Committee by visiting

Tag(s): Home