skip navigation

Seedings for the 2018 NIWBT Announced

03/01/2018, 5:45pm CST
By Pasha Zolfaghari

The University of Alabama – Men and University of Texas at Arlington – Women will headline their divisions as the top seeds in the 2018 National Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball Tournament. The 2018 NIWBT will be played at the Recreation/Athletic Facility and Physical Education Facility of Southwest Minnesota State University. The 2018 NIWBT is starting on Thursday, March 15 and concluding with the championships on Saturday, March 17. SMSU last hosted the national championship tournament for the Intercollegiate Division in 2010.

The 2017 NIWBT men’s champions University of Texas at Arlington enter this year’s tournament as the second seeded team. The 2016 NIWBT champions, University of Wisconsin – Whitewater, are seeded third in hopes for a potential rematch of the 2017 NIWBT championship game between UTA and UWW can occur in the second round on March 16 at 4:00 p.m.

The first game of the tournament will be played on March 15 at 8:00 a.m. between eight seed University of Nebraska – Omaha and the nine seed Auburn University in the men’s pool. The winner of that game will play the University of Alabama.

The participants in last year’s NIWBT women’s championship game, the University of Alabama and University of Texas at Arlington, will begin on different brackets, so a rematch championship game could happen on March 17 at 2:00 p.m.

The UTA women’s team is headlined by Rose Hollermann of Elysian, MN and Abigail Dunkin of New Baunfels, Texas. Both women are gold medalists from the 2016 Rio Paralympics and will help lead Team USA in the 2018 World Championships in Hamburg, Germany this summer. The University of Alabama men's team is headlined by leading scorer, Michael Auprince, who is averaging 20.6 ppg and 12.7 rpg.


Here are the seeds for the 2018 NIWBT:

Men’s Pool

  1. University of Alabama
  2. University of Texas at Arlington
  3. University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
  4. University of Missouri
  5. Edinboro University
  6. Southwest Minnesota State University
  7. University of Illinois
  8. University of Nebraska – Omaha
  9. Auburn University

Women’s Pool

  1. University of Texas at Arlington
  2. University of Alabama
  3. University of Illinois
  4. University of Wisconsin – Whitewater


The address for the venue is 1501 State St, Marshall, MN 56258. Follow updates, videos and live stats for the tournament by clicking here.

Tag(s): Home  Events