skip navigation

Classification & Classifiers

What is classification?

Wheelchair basketball classification is the grouping of players into categories (classes), based on the player’s physical capacity to execute fundamental basketball movements; pushing the wheelchair, dribbling, shooting, passing, catching, rebounding and reacting to contact.

The purpose of player classification in wheelchair basketball is to ensure that all eligible players have an equal right and opportunity to be an integral member of a team.

The functional classification is the system that is set to allow even levels of competition on the court for wheelchair basketball based on functional mobility. Players are classified as belonging to one of 8 classes: 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0 and 4.5. The higher the player's classification on the court, the greater the player's functional ability. In the NWBA teams are allowed to play a maximum of 15 points on the court at any given time among the five players.

In order to be eligible for play in the NWBA, an athlete must have a lasting lower extremity disability that consistently interferes with mobility as quantified by standard medical examination and/or testing. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, paralysis, amputation, radiological evidence of limb shortening, and partial to full joint ankylosis or replacement. Findings such as soft tissue contracture, ligamentous instability, edema or disuse atrophy, or symptoms such as pain or numbness without other objective findings shall not be considered a lasting lower extremity disability.

NWBA Classification Committee

Jayne Chilutti

Head of Classification

Courtney Ryan

Athlete Representative

ONLY Classifiers listed in the chart below have completed all of the requirements and are eligible to participate in NWBA activities. Classifiers are not eligible to participate in any NWBA activities if they are not included in the list below.