skip navigation

NWBA Announces 2019-20 NWBA Intercollegiate Division Annual Awards

By NWBA, 03/17/20, 2:00PM CDT


Dandeneau and Villa led the group of award recipients as "Player of the Year" winners

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO – The Intercollegiate Division of the National Wheelchair Basketball Association has announced its annual award winners for the 2019-20 season.

On the women’s side, Kady Dandeneau from the University of Illinois was named the Player of the Year, while Lindsey Zurburg from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater earned the Frank M. Brasile Sportsmanship Award.

Jesus Villa from Southwest Minnesota State University was selected the men’s Player of the Year, while Chayse Wolf from Edinboro University earned the Frank M. Brasile Sportsmanship Award.

The NWBA honors student-athletes not only for their play on the court, but in the classroom as well with the Academic All-Americans. The organization also named first and second team All-Americans, along with an All-Rookie team.

Women’s Academic All American Team

Weronika Maksimowicz,  University of Alabama 

Jordan Lee,  University of Illinois 

Abby Farrell,  University of Illinois 

Georgia Inglis,  University of Alabama 

Marissa Bartels,  University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

Women’s Honorable Mention All American Team

Lindsey Zurbrugg,  University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

Kate Lang,  University of Alabama  

Rosalie Lalonde,  University of Alabama 

Women’s All Rookie Team

Elodie Tessier, University of Texas - Arlington

Kady Dandeneau, University of Illinois

Jordan Chilton, University of Arizona

Lizzy Guerin, University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

Catha Weiss, University of Alabama

Women's All American 2nd Team

Darlene Hunter, University of Texas-Arlington

Elodie Tessier, University of Texas-Arlington

Ali Ibanez, University of Illinois 

Arinn Young, University of Alabama 

Annabelle Lindsay, University of Texas-Arlington

Women's All American 1st Team

Josie Aslakson, University of Arizona

Lindsey Zurbrugg, University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

Kady Dandeneau, University of Illinois 

Josie DeHart, University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

Rosalie Lalonde, University of Alabama 

Frank Brasille Sportsmanship Award:  Lindsey Zurbrugg, University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

Player of the Year:  Kady Dandeneau, University of Illinois 

Men's Academic All American:

Phil Evans, University of Arizona 

Eric Hamilton Jr., University of Nebraska-Omaha 

Kyle Jankowski, University of Illinois

Will Speed, Edinboro University 

Alex Hummer, University of Texas-Arlington

Men's Academic All American, Honorable Mention:

Antoine Gray, University of Texas-Arlington

Adryan Powell, University of Texas-Arlington

AJ Messmer, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Ryan Kile, Southwest Minnesota State University

Brian Garber, University of Arizona

Chayse Wolf, Edinboro University 

Amen Alyasiry, University of Arizona

Men's All Rookie Team:

Luke Robinson, Auburn University 

Koda Inman-Ahlstrom, University of Missouri

Grady Gordon, University of Alabama

Eric Hamilton, University of Nebraska - Omaha

Karl Yares, University of Arizona


Men's All American 2nd Team

Sidney Attiogbe, University Missouri

Jeromie Meyer, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Tyrone Griner , University of Arizona 

Antoine Gray, University of Texas-Arlington

Fabian Romo, University of Texas-Arlington

Men's All American 1st Team

Adryan Powell, University of Texas-Arlington

Tyler Buysse, University of Missouri 

Chayse Wolf, Edinboro University

Jesus Villa, Southwest Minnesota State University

Colin Higgins, University of Missouri

Frank Brasille Sportsmanship Award:  Chayse Wolf, Edinboro University

Player of the Year:  Jesus Villa, Southwest Minnesota State University