skip navigation

NWBA Announces 2020-21 NWBA Intercollegiate Division Academic and National Championship Awards

By NWBA Team, 03/13/21, 8:45PM CST


COLORADO SPRINGS, CO – The Intercollegiate Division of the National Wheelchair Basketball Association has announced its annual award winners for the 2020-21 season.

On the women’s side, Katharina Lang from the University of Alabama  was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament, while Bailey Moody from the University of Alabama earned the Frank M. Brasile Sportsmanship Award.

Amit Vigoda from University of Texas - Arlington was selected the men’s tournament Most Valuable Player, while Spencer Kimbro from Eastern Washington University earned the Frank M. Brasile Sportsmanship Award.

Furthermore, an All-Tournament team for the men's and women's National Championship tournament was named.

All- Tournament - Women

Elizabeth Becker (1.0), University of Texas - Arlington

Elodie Tessier (2.5), University of Texas - Arlington

Rosalie Lalonde (3.0), University of Alabama

Alexus Cook (4.0), University of Texas - Arlington

All-Tournament - Men

Vincent Dallaire (1.5), University of Texas - Arlington 

Lindy Bridges (2.5), University of Alabama 

Evan Heller (3.0), Auburn University

Ignacio Ortega (4.0), University of Alabama 

The NWBA honors student-athletes not only for their play on the court, but in the classroom as well with the Academic All-Americans. 

Women’s Academic All American Team

Elodie Tessier, University of Texas - Arlington 

Emilee Gustafson, University of Arizona

Abby Farrell, University of Illinois

Weronika Maksimowicz, University of Alabama

Katharina Lang, University of Alabama

Women's Academic All American, Honorable Mention:

Ruby Elbert, University of Illinois

Jordan Lee, University of Illinois

Riley Ljungdahl, University of Illinois

Rosalie Lalonde, University of Alabama

Elizabeth Becker, University of Texas - Arlington 

Samantha McMinn, University of Arizona

Men's Academic All American:

Austin Smith, University of Alabama

Kyle Jankowski, University of Illinois

Phil Evans, University of Arizona

Logan Caudle, Auburn University 

Partha Venkatram, University of Alabama

Men's Academic All American, Honorable Mention:

Sam Armas, Auburn University

Jonathan McNamara, University of Illinois

Thomas Duffy, University of Illinois

Fisher Rizk, Auburn University 

Topias Tyni, University of Texas - Arlington