skip navigation

NWBA is Accepting Applications for Head Coach of the U23 Men's National Team

By NWBA High Performance Committee, 08/04/21, 4:45PM CDT


Applications are due by 11:59PM MT on August 11, 2021

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO - The NWBA High Performance Committee is pleased to announce it is accepting applicants for the position of Head Coach for the U.S. Men's Under 23 National Team. The U.S. Men's U23 National Team has plans to compete at the 2022 IWBF U23 Men's World Championships in late-May/early-June in 2022 in Chiba, Japan (click here for IWBF's announcement on this event). 

Click Here to Register as 2021-22 Non-Athlete Registration

An entry for Non-Athlete Registration is required for this application as it fulfills minimum job description requirements of NWBA membership, background check, SafeSport, acknowledgement of NWBA Waiver and Code of Conduct.

All interested coaches must fill out the coach application AND a 2021-22 Non-Athlete Registration by 11:59 p.m. Mountain time on August 11, 2021 for full consideration.

The job description for this position is attached below. The U.S. Men's U23 Staff Selection Timeline is below:

August 4 - Call for Applications
August 11 - Close of Application
August 18 - Applications reviewed and invites to interviews to be issued
August 25 - Interviews for Head Coach position conducted
August 27 - Provide Head Coach candidates for Assistant Coach from Head Coach process 
September 3 - Assistant Coach/es, Athletic Trainer/Medical Staff and Team Leader Selection

About U.S. U23 Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Team
The U23 men’s wheelchair basketball program is an international development team that serves as our pipeline to the U.S. Men’s National Team. This program gives our elite youth athletes the opportunity to compete at the international level, obtain their official IWBF Classification and may be entered into the pipeline of athletes for future U.S. Men’s Team Selection Camps. Team USA has reached the championship game in three of the last six U23 World Championships, having won in 2005 and 2009. The United States claimed a bronze medal in 2001, did not participate in 2013 and placed ninth in 2017.