skip navigation

World Championship Roster Selected for 2023 Toyota USA Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Team

By NWBA and High Performance Selection Committee, 04/15/23, 9:00PM CDT


COLORADO SPRINGS, CO. - The National Wheelchair Basketball Association (NWBA) and the High Performance Selection Committee have announced the final roster of the Toyota USA Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Team for the 2022 International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) World Championships. This selection was made at the conclusion of the 2023 Toyota USA Women’s Team Selection Camp hosted April 12-16 at the United States Olympic & Paralympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, CO. 
The final roster will attend the rescheduled 2022 IWBF World Championships which will be held in Dubai on June 9-20, 2023. The USA team is slated to compete in ‘Group A’ of the women’s competition at the IWBF World Championships, click here to view the complete competition schedule for IWBF World Championships. 

The most decorated member of the final roster is Natalie Schneider (Syracuse, Nebraska) who has been a member of Team USA since winning her first gold medal at the 2008 Beijing Paralympics. Schneider's addition to the roster adds the pedigree of a World Champion having won gold at the 2010 IWBF World Championships. Schneider recently served as the co-captain for the U.S. Women's National Team from 2019 to 2021. 

Becca Murray (Germantown, Wisconsin) rejoins the U.S. Women’s National Team as one of the country’s most decorated players. A three-time Paralympian, Murray is a member of the 2008 and 2016 Paralympic squads that took gold in Beijing and Rio, respectively. One of the most recognizable players in the sport, Murray won gold at the 2007 and 2011 Parapan Games in addition to winning gold at the 2010 Worlds.   

Rose Hollermann (Elysian, Minnesota) joins Schneider as another veteran presence on the roster. Hollermann and Schneider played on the 2012, 2016 and 2020 Paralympic teams, winning gold at the 2016 Rio Paralympics and bronze medal at the most recent 2020 Tokyo Paralympics. Hollermann looks to earn her second podium finish at World Championships after taking silver at the 2022 Americas Cup. Hollermann was also a part of World Championship squads that finished in fourth place in 2014 and sixth in 2018. 
Courtney Ryan (Chula Vista, California) also returns a Team USA final roster having been a member of the bronze medal winning U.S. Women’s team from the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics. She was also member of the silver medal team from the 2019 Lima Parapan American Games, which secured the qualifying spot for Tokyo Paralympics. Ryan was a member of the U.S. Women's squad that finished fourth at the 2014 IWBF World Championships.  

Josie Aslakson (Jordan, Minnesota) and Alejandra Ibanez (Murray, Utah) each earned a spot on the final roster after helping Team USA earn bronze at the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics. Both Aslakson and Obanez seek a second podium finish at Worlds, having been members of the 2017 Team USA squad that captured silver at the Americas Cup.   

Mackenzie Soldan (Hemlock, California) returns to Team USA to serve as a veteran presence on the team. Soldan was a member of the 2016 Paralympic Team, winning gold at the 2016 Rio Paralympics. 
Bailey Moody (Alpharetta, Georgia), and Lindsey Zurbrugg (Portland, Oregon) return to the roster after winning a silver medal at the 2022 Americas Cup. The teammates began their Team USA experience as members of the 2017 America's Cup team that won a silver medal in Cali, Colombia. They went on to win a silver medal at the 2019 Lima Parapan American Games. Lastly, these two athletes were all contributing members of the roster at the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics that captured a bronze medal.

Ixhelt Gonzalez (Chicago, Illinois) earned a spot on the final roster after helping Team USA earn silver at the 2022 Americas Cup. Gonzalez was part of the bronze medal winning team from the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics. Most recently Gonzalez both added to their trophy case this summer as they earned a silver medal in Brazil at the 2022 Americas Cup.  
Abigail Bauleke (Savage, Michigan) returns to the roster after helping Team USA secure a silver medal in Brazil at the 2022 Americas Cup. Bauleke's most prestige playing accomplishment would be her bronze medal at the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics. Bauleke also brings in gold medal experience from the 2019 IWBF Under 25 World Championships.  
Emily Oberst (Brookfield, Wisconsin) will be a member of back-to-back World Championship rosters; having been a member of the squad for the 2018 IWBF World Championships. Oberst also helped qualify the U.S. Women's team with the silver-medal performance at the Americas Cup. Oberst was a member of the Worlds qualifying squad for the 2017 IWBF America’s Cup that also won silver.   

The following athletes have been named as alternates: Kaitlyn Eaton (Houston, Texas), Jennifer Poist (McSherrystown, Pennsylvania), Zoe Voris (Chicago, Illinois) and Josie DeHart (Fruita, Colorado). 

Also joining Head Coach Christina Schwab on the sidelines will be: 

- Assistant Coach Desiree Miller of Monroe, Washington 
- Assistant Coach Ryan Hynes of Germantown, Wisconsin 
- Team Leader Nikki Campbell of Clancy, Montana 
- Athletic Trainer Jennifer Kingsby of San Jose, California 

Assisting in preparations as part of the extended staff are: 

- Strength and Conditioning Coach Katie McClosky of Houston, Texas 
- Nutritionist Sally Baumann of Greater Brisbane, Australia 
- Sport Psychologist Adam O’Neil of Boulder, Colorado 
Follow your Toyota U.S. Women's National Team on NWBA social media channels. Instagram and Twitter: @NWBA, Facebook: @NWBA70