skip navigation

2015 Courage Kenny Classic Tournament Recap

By Cara Culbronson - Tournament Director, 11/12/15, 10:00AM CST


2015 Courage Kenny Classic Tournament Recap
Tournament Director: Cara Gulbronson 612-775-2278

The 2015 Courage Kenny Classic served as the 2015 NWBA Junior Division Northern Regional Qualifying Tournament for National Tournament that is held in Louisville, KY April 7-10, 2016. The Dallas Jr Mavericks and the Jr Rolling Timberwolves received these automatic bids this year. The Dallas Jr Mavericks beat out the Jr Rolling Timberwolves 54-48 and the Milwaukee Bucks beat out the Rolling Rowdies 34 to 22 to win the varsity and prep championships this year. 

Prep All-Tournament Team:
•    Kaiden McCormick – Nebraska
•    Edgar Morales – Minnesota
•    Travis Beckler – Milwaukee 
•    Jack Binsfeld – Minnesota
•    Justas Emery – Minnesota
•    Rita Ottenheimer – Milwaukee
•    Andrei Serafin – Minnesota
•    Suzanne Shoemaker – Nebraska 
•    Caleb Nilius – Nebraska
•    Gianni Quintero – Milwaukee
Male MVP – Nick Deyo – Minnesota
Female MVP – Moira Paulus – Milwaukee 

Varsity All-Tournament Team:
•    Collin Evans – Minnesota
•    Ryan Glatchak – Chicago
•    Zach Steger – Dallas
•    Jonathan Laing – Minnesota
•    Josie Dehart – Denver
•    Abbie Farrell – Denver
•    Jordan Lee – Dallas
•    Holden Kowalke – Minnesota
•    Drew Selz – Milwaukee
•    Jayson Gorton – Minnesota
Male MVP – Tyler Buysse – Dallas
Female MVP – Emily Oberst – Milwaukee 

Terry Hanson Award
This award is given to an athlete in their final year of participating in the Junior Division who demonstrates leadership, dedication and excellence to wheelchair sports. 
•    Jonathan Laing – Minnesota 12 years of participation

1.    Milwaukee Jr Bucks
2.    Courage Rolling Rowdies
3.    Nebraska Red Dawgs
1.    Dallas Jr Mavericks
2.    Courage Jr Rolling Timberwolves
3.    Milwaukee Jr Bucks 
4.    Synergy Jr Bulls
5.    Nebraska Red Dawgs
6.    Denver Rollin Nuggets
7.    Mad City Badgers
8.    Courage Jr Rolling Gophers 

A thank you is deserved by all of the tournament supporters and sponsors, without your support this tournament would not have been possible. Special thanks to Coloplast, ABRA Auto Body and Glass, Hastings High School, and Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute. 128 Volunteers were utilized throughout the weekend and donated over 375 hours. Thank you to the sports and recreation and volunteer services staff who have been incredible in the planning and executing of this tournament. 

Media Coverage: Aired at 10:30 on Saturday, November 7th Aired at 6:30am on Sunday, November 8th

Facebook Coverage: