skip navigation

Lady Mavericks are the 2017 NWBA Women's National Champions

03/19/2017, 8:30pm CDT

ARLINGTON, TEXAS – NWBA Championship Sunday for the National Women's Wheelchair Basketball Tournament was a nail biter for the third-place game between the LWSRA Lady Hawks and the Utah Rush, as well as the National Title game between the Dallas Wheelchair Lady Mavs and PossAbilities Shield Maidens. Both games were decided by four points each. 

The third-place game witnessed the Utah Rush holding a slight lead for the majority of the first half as Alenjandra Ibanez scored 13 points. However, the Utah Rush were forced to go to the bench as starter Josie DeHart picked up three early fouls. The Lady Hawks received a great shooting performance by Zoe Voris as she compiled 19 points for the game. The Lady Hawks played stout defense and protected the boards on the defensive side as they took control of the game in the second half. Voris iced the game for the Lady Hawks with two clutch free throws with eight seconds remaining on the clock, and finished third with a 37-33 victory.

The 2017 NWBA Women’s National Championship Game featured the Lady Mavericks and PossAbilities Shield Maidens. Led by Courtney Ryan, the Shield Maidens started with an unmatched intensity leading 17-3 midway through the first half. Ryan finished the game with a team high 14 points.

The Mavericks used the end of the first half and the first portion of the second half going on a 23-9 run to square the score at 26-26. In the second half, the Shield Maidens had to change up their approach on defense with starters Jennifer Poist and Molly Bloom both having four fouls.

The Mavs' and U.S. Paralympic gold medalist Desiree Miller amassed 10 of her 15 points in the second half to obtain the led for the Mavericks in the second half. The improved shooting by Mavericks in the second half secured the National Championship title, 39-35.

First Team All-Tournament
Carlie Cook – LWSRA Lady Hawks
Lindsey McGlinch – LWSRA Lady Hawks
Darlene Hunter – Lady Mavericks
Alenjandra Ibanez – Utah Rush
Courtney Ryan – PossAbilities Shield Maidens

Second Team All-Tournament
Emily Sellenfreund – Lady Mavericks
Jordan Lee – Lady Mavericks
Nina Welfle – LWSRA Lady Hawks
Ana Vargas – PossAbilities Shield Maidens
Josie DeHart – Utah Rush

Sportsmanship Award – Marlee Wagstaff – Utah Rush
Most Improved Player – Zoe Voris – LWSRA Lady Hawks
Tournament MVP – Desiree Miller – Lady Mavericks

Tournament Schedule

Friday, March 17                                                                           

Lady Mavericks def. LWSRA Lady Hawks 48-40; PossAbilities Shield Maidens def. Utah Rush 42-18; LWSRA  Lady Hawks def. Utah Rush 44-36; Lady Mavericks def. PossAbilities Shield Maidens 47-36                               

Saturday, March 18                                                        

PossAbilities Shield Maidens def. LWSRA Lady Hawks 50-18; Lady Mavericks def. Utah Rush 48-30; Lady Mavericks def. Utah Rush 50-31; PossAbilities Shield Maidens def. LWSRA Lady Hawks 58-36                   

Sunday, March 19                                                                         

1st - Lady Mavericks def. PossAbilities Shield Maidens, 39-35; 3rd - LWSRA Lady Hawks def. Utah Rush 37-33

Tag(s): Home